Returning to the Summer of 2007 — Taking on the Teton Range

S7300964

A spectacular view of Grand Teton, the tallest mountain in the park.

Returning to the tales of my summer 2007 out west adventure, I am actually going to tell you about the last leg of our trip: exploring Grand Teton National Park. This wondrous park contains the 40-mile-long Teton Range, the longest tributary of the Columbia River and a quaint and rustic town known as Jackson Hole (Wikipedia).

1

My 13 year-old self did his best to take in and capture all of the beautiful scenery.

One thing I forgot to mention in the beginning of my summer 2007 posts is that on this trip was my first time using a digital camera. My family bought one specifically to document this trip, and I immediately took charge. I was an overly-enthusiastic photo taker, snapping pictures of everything I found interesting, peculiar or beautiful. But being that this was my first time out west, I found literally everything to be interesting, peculiar and beautiful. By the end of the trip, I had taken over 2,000 photos.

Yes, it was excessive, and the majority of the photos were of very poor quality. But I learned at least two things: 1). I needed to work on practicing self control, and 2). I loved taking photos!

S7300992

Our view from inside a historic, log cabin church. It was quite serene.

Unfortunately, our car broke down in the small town of Jackson Hole where we were staying during our visit. Because of this, we ended up spending much more time exploring the town and enjoying our hotel’s swimming pool than exploring the park. While our car was working, we did get to take in some beautiful scenery and visit some interesting areas, like the historical log cabin church that is pictured above. One our car was fixed, it was time to say goodbye and head back home.

Because my mobility was limited in Grand Teton, it is one park that is at the top of my “Must Return To” list. One day I’ll see you again, Grand Teton!

Leave a comment